Best way for a total newbie to start developing on Oasis Network?

Is there some tutorial which which shows basic steps (from setting up environment on local PC to deploying a simple “Hello World” contract to Emerald testnet) from a perspective of someone who never heard of docker nor hardhat/truffle?

Is there some repository of user created dApps which would serve as a learning material for those who want to dive into developing on Oasis Network?

Hey Mare- thanks for asking! We do have the Developer Courses on our website which is what I believe you’re asking for. At the moment, our team is working to ramp up additional resources and support for developers. We welcome all feedback for what would be most useful.

Hope this helps!

1 Like

Yes, this is helpful for the people who are somehow already experienced with the development on EVM and they want to try it on the Emerald paratime. It shows a bigger image.

But it would be convenient to have from zero to hero guide on setting up local development tools and providing an example of the simplest form of an smart contract so newbies can play with it on the Emerald testnet preconfigured. I believe something like this is possible to be created and distributed.
And I believe it could propel curious audience to try even complicated solutions on Emerald, that mental friction when you’re trying something new is the big barrier to exploring the space :smiley:

1 Like

You did go through our official docs right? Overview | Oasis Network Documentation

1 Like

I missed this one because I was scared of docker thing,
I was ignorant and though it required some special kind of configuration to be used for Emerald Paratime playground.

After carefully checking - Writing dApps on Emerald | Oasis Network Documentation
I see this is a perfect start few those who want to learn to develop, and it’s so easy to start.
Thanks!

If you’re a total newbie looking to start developing on the Oasis Network, here are a few steps you can take: